Fly Like An Eagle

 

Nestled in the alleyways of Portsmouth you’ll find Earth Eagle Brewery. I’ve been coming to this place for a couple years now and every time I tell someone I’m going here, I’m met with the “What?” “Where”? though this brewery is smack in the middle of downtown. I call it my Portsmouth Hidden Gem.

I love this brewery for many reasons and the diversity of beers on tap is my #1 reason. I’ve been here before when I’ve found brews made of actual meat, which was actually quite tasty if I do say so myself. I’ll usually find the most unique beers on tap here as well as perfected “normal” beers.

I find myself coming back for more and more Chiefy Leroux. It’s a very light, smooth beer that I could sit here drinking beer after beer. While much of the other beers on tap are gruits and different types of ales, the Chiefy Leroux is the love of my life.

Other than the Chiefy Leroux, the sextuplets of beer flights I had, provided a great deal of fruitful flavor. The Lionthorne was my favorite of the gruits filled with berries, dandelions, and Labrador tea. It’s fruity but not to the point where it’s too sweet that it makes it too much to drink a lot of. I’ve also held the belief that tea is very healthy, therefore, this beer fits right in with my diet, right?

The other two gruits, Ambrosia Gruit and Quadrasourus provide a more earthy and sour taste, respectively. Naturally me as the dinosaur nerd flocks toward anything with a saurus on the end. But even though I was already biased with the name, the beer was a mild sour beer with Juniper berries, motherwort, speedwell, and gentian root..yes, I have no idea what any of that is either but it’s so good. The other two ales, Amarillo Dancer and the Phoenix Brown provide a balanced taste to the sample as most beers are more fruity or light. I didn’t get a chance to try the last beer, MIA but I can only imagine what the hint of vanilla will do with the porter.

The second half of the menu showcases different breweries such a Smuttynose and Rising Tide. Breweries that section out a portion of their menu for other breweries is what I love about local breweries: collaboration and support. I love seeing other breweries feature other breweries on their menus. Craft beer is about collaboration and community, not competition. That’s also why I love Portsmouth as well. They’re based on the same idea of collaboration vs competition.  Watching business/breweries collaborate and support each other is inspiring.

If you find yourself in downtown Portsmouth and looking for something different, pop in for a draft, some of their eye-bulging nachos, or bring a growler home to share. I promise you, it is so worth it.

 

About

Earth Eagle Brewing
165 High Street
Portsmouth, NH

Open: Sunday-Thursday 11:30 a.m. – 10 p.m.
             Friday-Saturday 11:30 a.m. – midnight

Website
Facebook
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

