All Good in the Hood

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: There’s no beer as good as German beer. Last weekend I stumbled upon a hidden gem in Exeter, New Hampshire: Neighborhood Beer Company. Neighborhood specializes in German beer with an American twist. I have to admit, I think I’ve found one of my new favorite breweries.

Normally, my favorite German beers are Hefeweizens and Kolsch, so naturally I headed right for the Hallowed Hammock Blonde Ale and Familiar Stranger Dirty Blonde Ale. Of the two, the Hallowed Hammock was my favorite. This easy-drinking ale had hints of caramel and apricots and was definitely the kind of beer you could sit and have a couple of, dangerously good. I was a little disappointed not to see a Hefeweizen on tap but I’m hoping soon! Unexpectedly, I became obsessed with the Boss Flamingo Bronze Ale. Described as one of the rarest beers in the world, Boss Flamingo has distinctive tastes of fruit and bitter hops. Neighborhood describes this beer as an “Americanized, “imperialized” interpretation of the Bavarian Forest Dampfbier. By the way, it also has the highest alcohol percentage of 7.2%, which is an added bonus. Finally, I tried the Forbidden Firecracker Golden Lager, which was a crisp Pilsner.

Aside from the tastes, I found myself sitting there wondering where I could get a career in naming beers because Neighborhood’s were so creative. Not only were the beers named creatively, but the grilled cheeses as well. Take your pick from a list of famous tv moms such as Carol Brady and Carmela Soprano.

The most dangerous thing about Neighborhood was the bowls of pretzels everywhere. Before you know it, you’re on your third bowl. Another feature is a window behind the bar leading into the actual brewery so you can watch how your beer is made at the same time.

I’m already looking forward to my next trip to Neighborhood Beer Company because my biggest regret is not grabbing a growler of Boss Flamingo before I left.

About

Neighborhood Beer Company
156 Epping Road
Exeter, New Hampshire

Hours

Wed-Thurs 4 p.m.- 8p.m.
Friday-Saturday 1 p.m. – 8 p.m.
Sunday  1p.m.-5 p.m.

Website
Facebook
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

