Don’t Buy Beer From Strangers

Growing up, your parents probably told you not to talk to strangers. Well at 7th Settlement Brewery in Dover, NH, they encourage people not to buy beer from strangers, though drunk enough, I’ll buy beer from anyone. The brewery prides itself on being community-centric as in their home of Dover and the craft beer community, as they just hosted the second annual Seacoast Microbrew Fest.

Right in the heart of Dover, 7th Settlement provides a relaxing setting, rather than many of the surrounding nightlife bars. One of my favorite things about 7th Settlement is their “give a beer” board. There, you can buy your friend a beer and they can see it on the board the next time they visit and have one on you. Anyone reading this, feel free to put me down for a couple. Worth a try, right?

The night before heading to 7th Settlement, I hit up the Barley Pub in North Hampton and the bartender insisted that I try the 1623 Almighty Brown Ale, though I’m not much of a dark beer fan. The ale  is packed with tastes of caramel, chocolate and toffee with just a hint of bitter and sweetness. It might convince me to be a dark beer person. During my visit to the brewery, I was hooked on the 007th Golden Rye. The rye cuts through the hops of this golden ale creating a very smooth beer. As smooth, you could say, as James Bond himself. I was also drawn to the Nitro Cream Ale. When I think of Nitro I think of a dark, stouty beer, but this was much different. Instead, it was a stouty pale ale, very light in color, with a nice creamy taste.I had never had anything like this beer before.

Not only does 7th Settlement have great beers, but their food is exceptional!  They boast a farm to table menu, endorsing eating local as well as drinking local. My recommendation is Sunday brunch at the brewery, because who doesn’t like brunch and beers?

So meet up with a buddy for a beer after work or pack all the kids up on the weekend and head to 7th Settlement. There’s something for everyone there and it really makes you feel like you’re part of a community.

 

About

7th Settlement Brewery
47 Washington St.
Dover, NH

Hours
Monday-Thursday 11:30 a.m.- 11 p.m.
Friday-Saturday 11:30 a.m. – midnight
Sunday 9 a.m.- 10 p.m.

Website
Facebook
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

