Slumming It

In the short amount of time that I’ve visited Somerville, I’ve come to love the little neighborhood culture and has become a great town for local breweries. Tucked behind one of these neighborhoods is Somerville Brewing, or SlumBrew. Though I can’t tell you how to get there because my Lyft driver drove in circles insisting he wasn’t lost (spoiler: he was).

Slumbrew’s atmosphere definitely fits in with the “neighborhood” vibe. With two locations, the brewery and the beer garden in Assembly Square, there’s enough beer to go ’round.

Like usual, I am drawn to the lighter beers. The first, Float, was a witbier with citrus lingering through this wheat beer. I could drink 5 of those and feel refreshed. The Happy Sol was definitely an interesting take on a Hefeweizen. Usually a cloudy, banana and clove beer, this Hefeweizen bases itself in blood oranges and wildflower. I’d consider this a hippie hef, if you ask me. Still good though. The second I saw Scooter on the menu I was excited. This strawberry wheat beer was the perfect beer to put a little life back into me after a day of brewery touring. I could not taste much of the strawberry but the hints of it added to the fresh taste of the beer.

Niles Crane, yes that Niles Crane, is a blonde ale, which was a smooth, simple beer. I may be naive but still trying to get the reference to the blonde ale. Gose the Destroyer had me at the name. Maybe because my friend and I are nerds and automatically think of Zolof the Rock and Roll Destroyer (most of you will have no idea what I’m talking about- but it used to be a great band). Anyways, back to beer. This sour beer was very tart with a pronounced hibiscus taste. Our wonderful waitress, who we ended up befriending because she was so nice, brought us some samples of Island Day, the IPA. I think as I’m reviewing more and more beers, I’m starting to appreciate the IPA alot more. This hazy beer explodes with flavors of pineapple and mango. That fruity aroma gets me every time.

Do yourself a favor, get the food. We got the Basil Pesto pizza and could have ordered two because it was so good. An hour later we were still drooling over how good that pizza (and beer!) were. I can’t wait to try the beer garden in Assembly Square next! Perfect excuse for a shopping and day drinking adventure.

Slumbrew – Somerville Brewery
15 Ward St
Somerville, MA

Hours
Monday- Wednesday 4pm-11pm
Thursday- Saturday 11am-12am
Sunday 11am-11pm

Website
Facebook
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

