Bissell While You Work

Bissell Brothers, in Portland, Maine, has been at the top of my brewery bucket list for quite some time now. So, heading into the brewery I started with very high expectations. They were far exceeded, let me tell you.

Located in Portland’s new summer hot spot, Thompson Point, Bissell was packed with people hanging out front on the patios near the food truck and inside the brewery’s large tasting room.  Though Bissell does not offer flights, unfortunately, I grabbed a couple of tasters and headed up to the top deck that overlooks the brewery to get a full view.The front side of the deck overlooks the tap room while the back over looks the barrels. One of the first things I noticed was that the place was very dog-friendly, which is always a plus for me. I personally, don’t have a dog, but it’s a great excuse to play with other people’s.

From the first sip of the Baby Genius, I was in love. This light, cloudy beer had just the right hint of hops and was very smooth. The Lux, the Rye IPA, was also light with just a little more bite that the Baby Genius. Finally was Reciprocal, a double hopped IPA. Though I’m not a big fan of hoppier beers, this was perfect.

If I lived closer to this place, you’d probably find me here most of the time. It’s a great place to come with your friends for an afternoon or a great stop before you head into town. Especially with a number of big concerts held at Thompson Point in the summer, this is the spot. The only downside is I couldn’t get any Baby Genius to go as they have a can schedule. I hope to see this brewery grow alot more in the future, especially so I can stock up my beer fridge with Bissell beers. I already can’t wait to make another trip up there!

About 

Bissell Brothers 
4 Thompson Point
Portland, ME

Hours
Wednesday, Thursday 12p.m.-6p.m.
Friday, Saturday 12p.m.-8p.m.
Sunday 12p.m.-5p.m.

Website
Facebook
Instagram

Leave a Reply

